New life – Why I disappeared so soon

As I mentioned before, I decided to change my life, and the first step was to schedule appointments with all the doctors I had been ignoring. That’s mostly why I made my first two posts and then disappeared. 

I was very busy going to doctor appointments, doing exams, teaching, studying and grieving over a friend who’s recently passed away. Few weeks after that , I had an MRI and confirmed an endometriosis suspicion. I started on the meds last week and had my (hopefully) last painful period for the year. 

What is endometriosis???
Well, I am not a doctor. All the information I will give you is based on reading and asking my doctor. If you want precise information, or if you suspect that there is anything wrong about your body, ask your doctor about it as soon as possible. 

The endometrium is a body tissue that grows inside the uterus and forms the menstrual blood every month. Endometriosis is when endometrium parts grow anywhere that is not in the area of the uterus where it is supposed to be. It can grow basically anywhere in the body but the most common places are the fallopian tubes, ovaries and other organs that are close to the uterus. 

There isn’t much information about what causes this chronic desease, but there is a suspicion that women who had hormones related types of cancer (such as breast cancer and uterus or ovarian cancer) are more likely to develop endometriosis. 

The most common symptoms that I’ve seen everywhere and experienced (most) for the last two years are: 

  • Very painful cramps during ovulation or pre menstrual days;
  • Pelvic pain in general (not just in the uterus, since your lesion/s could be anywhere in your pelvic region);
  • Cramping triggered by sexual activity;
  • Pain during sex; 
  • Heavy period flows;
  • Pain while urinating during your period; 
  • Painful ovulation;
  • Many more things that make you go: 😥.

If you have one or more of these symptoms, talk to your gynecologist about it. I always thought painful periods are normal and that it was supposed to be hell, but then I had my boyfriend force me to visit a gynecologist and talk about everything (I am absolutely terrified of gynecologists), and I was all like “I feel pain all of the time, that’s life” and I’ll never forget how she looked at me in the eyes and said that ” It is  never ok to feel pain. We will find out what it is and we will get you better.”. I almost bursted into tears right there. It felt like a shot. No doctor ever told me I didn’t need to be in pain almost every day. I did the exams and in two months now my hole life has changed because someone told me better days are coming.  

In my case, I found out pretty soon and there were only two visible lesions, one in each ovarie. It was almost as good as it could have been and I might be free from it in around six months. Maybe not for life, but the endometriosis I have now will leave me alone (in theory). 

If treatment works, I don’t even know what it is going to be like (I’ve had terrible periods since the first one, 11 years ago), and that gets me so happy. But I also feel very scared of it not working and that I might be caught by surprise next month and feeling even more severe pain (since I won’t be preparing myself for it days ahead). My cramps were worse than kidney stones cramps. Now even the guys can imagine how bad that is. 😂

Lastly, I want to apologise again for being away for so long. I will be posting more things about organization, healthy eating, medical conditions that I think everyone should be aware of and many other things. 

To stay tuned, like my Facebook page Changing Lili and follow me on Instagram! The name is @changing_lili 

See you guys soon!

Leave a Reply

